K-pop Release Preview 5/11-5/17: NU’EST, BVNDIT and More!

It’s another big week for K-pop releases, including new music from groups like NU’EST, BOL4, BVNDIT, and more. Let’s look at what music is soon to hit our airwaves.

The Upcoming Week in K-pop

5/11: DAY6 – The Book of US: The Demon (EP)

The week starts off fast with a new mini-album from DAY6. The JYP Entertainment band has been known for a while now as being one of the top pop-rock groups in Korea. The group put out 11-track album The Book of Us : Entropy in 2019, headlined by title track “Sweet Chaos.”

This time around, the group has eight songs planned to come out on Monday, including the title track “ZOMBIE.” The previews currently make the title track out to be a more mellow and relaxed song as opposed to the intense previous releases.

On Sunday, news broke that the comeback promotions would be delayed “in order to focus on recovering their health,” but the release has occurred nonetheless.

5/11: NU’EST – The Nocturne (EP)

Starting off the week is a new mini-album from boy group NU’EST. The release, titled The Nocturne is their third since returning to promotion in 2019. Their last project, The Table, included title track “LOVE ME.”

In one of the more unique promotional strategies, the band has a webgame designed to tease the comeback. You enter the website after (spoiler) entering the passcode “0017.” Then, solve numerous puzzles that lead you to the end of the game.

Like previous projects, group member Baekho is credited for the production of songs. Fellow member Ren also worked on the fifth of six tracks on the release.

5/12: Raiden & Chanyeol – Yours (Single)

On Tuesday, EXO’s Chanyeol will team up with SM Entertainment producer and DJ Raiden for track “Yours.” Fans of Red Velvet may remember Raiden for his collaborative track with Irene last year, “The Only.”

5/13: BOL4 – Youth Diary II: Flower Seen by a Butterfly (EP)

After the pre-release of the single “Leo” last week with EXO member Baekhyun, BOL4 returns with a mini-album on Wednesday. Titled Youth Diary II: Flower Seen by a Butterfly, the album is a sequel to a 2019 release under Shofar Music. Along with the previously released single, the album comes with the new title track “Hug.” This release is the non-single project from the group since the departure of Woo Ji-yoon.

5/13: BVNDIT – Carnival (EP)

Now just passing their one year mark as a group, BVNDIT is set to return with new EP Carnival. Five songs in total, the EP will feature the new title track “JUNGLE.” The last song on the project, “Children,” was previously released and became quite an underrated song in the month. Also featured on the project is “Cool,” which was put out three months prior. 

The girl group sprung on the scene with “Hocus Pocus” in 2019, with songs “Dramatic” and “Dumb” being following singles on the next project.

5/13: Busters – Paeonia (Single Album)

Girl group Busters has never had widespread popularity, but they’ve persisted in the scene since 2017. Now putting out their fourth project, the group returns with Paeonia on the 13th. The group has undergone some changes since, with members Minjung, Minji and Hyungseo departing. Jisoo and Chaeyoung, members from before are now joined by Jieun, Yeseo, Takara, and Jeon Minji.

5/13: Woo!Ah! – Exclamation (Single Album)

On Wednesday, a new girl group will be added to the mix. Woo!Ah! will come out with debut single album Exclamation. The group has gained traction online through dance covers of popular songs like ITZY’s “WANNABE” and Apink’s “Dumhdurum.” The six-member group has put out videos promoting each member through their YouTube channel.

5/15: UNVS – Soundtracks For The Lost & Broken : Give You Up

Finishing off the week of releases will be a new project from boy group UNVS. The two-track album Soundtracks For The Lost & Broken : Give You Up will feature title track “Give You Up,” and “Waterfall,” a solo track from main vocalist Eunho.

Looking Ahead

After the upcoming week for releases concludes, there is much more to come. Looking even farther down the pipeline, May will see releases from groups like TXT. NCT 127, Monsta X, and more scheduled.

Embed from Getty Imageswindow.gie=window.gie||function(c){(gie.q=gie.q||[]).push(c)};gie(function(){gie.widgets.load({id:’cXihvI20QFpe_BwyYFSnJw’,sig:’S-IBodFtZtHGbYuaVGVVUteztl7bKirGUdKt9tJ0Ki8=’,w:’594px’,h:’396px’,items:’1202951735′,caption: true ,tld:’ca’,is360: false })});

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.